Welcome, New Trustees!

Thank you to the following for committing to serve a new 3-year term on SAHC’s Board of Trustees. These individuals have graciously volunteered to devote their time and expertise to help carry out our mission. (Pictured, L to R: Tom Williams, Chris Soto, Rich Preyer, Nancy Edgerton)

Nancy Edgerton Asheville, NC
Nancy previously served on SAHC’s board, including a term as President, and has continued to volunteer on our Governance Committee. She and her husband Ron are dedicated participants in our hikes, outings and special events. Nancy is a talented photographer and cellist, and she serves on the Asheville Symphony board.

Rich Preyer Asheville, NC
Rich served two years as SAHC’s  AmeriCorps Member for Public Education and Outreach. He earned a Masters in Environmental Education from Antioch University in New Hampshire and is currently a Youth Education Associate with the NC Arboretum. Rich is enthusiastic about our Connecting People with Land program and Equity, Diversity and Inclusion initiative.

Chris Soto Johnson City, TN
Chris is senior editor and content manager with the Land Trust Alliance. She ensures that land conservation stories are shared among the different communications vehicles at the Alliance, in print and online. She manages the award- winning quarterly magazine, Saving Land. Before the Alliance, Chris managed publications at the Wildlife Habitat Council and American Farmland Trust. She and her husband are dedicated participants in SAHC events and outings and are active with the East Tennessee birding community.

Tom Williams Fairview, NC
Tom recently retired from Duke Energy as its Director of Corporate Media and Executive Support. He and his wife Laurie especially appreciate the conservation easements SAHC holds on land in Fairview. Tom is enthusiastic about helping SAHC with communications, development and engagement.

Appalachian Spring 2017

We had a wonderful time with all of our members, friends, and guests last night at Yee-Haw Brewing Company in Johnson City, TN. Congratulations to our new/returning Trustees — David Erwin, Rick Manske, John Mason, Laura McCue, and Cynthia Poortenga. Thank you to our outgoing Trustees — Courtney Blossman, Jack Hamilton, Bill Lowndes, and Kathy Singleton — for your years of dedicated service to land and water conservation on behalf of Southern Appalachian Highlands Conservancy. Congratulations to Kirk Watson of Causeway Interactive, the recipient of our 2017 Stanley A. Murray Award for Volunteer Service, and a big thank you to all our sponsors and raffle item donors for helping make our event a resounding success. It was a wonderful night for our annual Appalachian Spring conservation celebration, benefit, and member event.

Read more

Welcome and Thanks to our Board of Trustees

SAHC_Logo_Official-with-WebsiteSAHC is honored and excited to welcome the following new Trustees, elected to serve a new first term on the Board. We are fortunate to have such a dedicated and diverse group of people who will offer a multitude of different skills and insight to SAHC over the upcoming three year term. Here are our new Trustees:

Bill Lowndes

Bill has a long history with SAHC, as he served on the board in the 1970s, and was SAHC’s second Treasurer. In 2004, he rejoined the board, and served until 2010. Bill has been instrumental in leading SAHC’s institutional and programmatic growth over the years. Bill currently serves on the SAHC’s Planning Committee, Nominating and Board Development Committee, and Fundraising Committee. Bill’s work on the Human Resources Committee has been essential in fostering a strong relationship between board and staff at SAHC.

Kathy Singleton

Kathy lives in Kingsport, and is an attorney with Wilson Worley Moore Gamble and Stout law firm. Her passion for the outdoors and love of Roan make her an incredible advocate and representative for SAHC. Kathy comes to SAHC as an influential community leader, as she serves as the chairperson of the Scholarship Committee for the Women’s Symphony Committee of Kingsport, Tennessee. Kathy’s service with Friends in Need, INC., Kingsport Tomorrow, and Junior League of Kingsport are just several examples of her tireless efforts to improve her local and regional communities. SAHC is thrilled to have her on board this next term.

Courtney Blossman

Courtney currently lives in Asheville, after having moved recently from Coastal Mississippi. Since the 1970s, she has been a frequent visitor to the mountains and has always had a deep appreciation for the natural world. Besides her passion for protecting the environment, Courtney has also been a staunch supporter of the arts. Her contributions on the board of the Nature Conservancy-MS Chapter and as former President of the Gulf Islands National Seashore Advisory Committee reflect her passion to protect the integrity of our land for future generations. Courtney’s involvement over the last 37 years in the non-profit sector will give SAHC invaluable perspective and vision for the future.

Jack Hamilton

Jack and his family have lived in Asheville for the last 18 years, where he is a corporate and tax attorney at Roberts and Stevens law firm. He has been an active supporter of SAHC for several years and will have much to offer for the following term. He has over a decade of experience serving as the Chair of the Diana Wortham Theatre, Board of Directors, and on the Finance Committee of the United Way. Jack’s expertise and dedication will undoubtedly contribute to the development and growth of SAHC during the next term.

Jeanette Blazier and Bruce Cunningham of Kingsport, TN were also re-elected for their second three-year term.

SAHC is thrilled to have these talented, passionate, and driven Trustees to further our mission to protect and conserve the beautiful mountains of Western North Carolina and Eastern Tennessee.  Their service and dedication to SAHC will positively affect the shape of these mountains for generations to come.

We would also like to express our deep appreciation to the following trustees who rotated off the Board this year: Joe DeLoach, Doris Gove, Bill Jones, Witt Langstaff, Jr., Tom Laughlin, and Lach Zemp. The insight, direction, and enthusiasm of these individuals have continued to cultivate a tradition of great achievement and success within SAHC. We are a deeply grateful for their hard work and service.